FIRST EDITION 2013. The Broken Road – From The Iron Gates To Mount Athos By Patrick Leigh Fermor

Minimum Donation €68.00

First Edition, edited and signed by Colin Thubron and Artemis Cooper. In the early 1930s, at the age of eighten, Patrick Leigh Fermor set out to walk from the Hook of Holland to Constantinople. It proved to be the defining experience of his life, and was the subject of two of his best loved books, A Time of Gifts and Between the Woods and the Water. They only took the reader up to the Iron Gates in Romania and Leigh Fermor always planned a third and final volume. But a glacial writer’s block descended and to the dismay of his friends, fans and publishers, he never finished it. ‘The Broken Road’ brings together two texts which he left behind him

Only 1 left in stock

SKU: bab536 Categories: , Tags: , , , , , , , , ,


The first, astonishingly, almost completes his walk to Constaninople; it was written in the early 1960s, then set aside for correction and never finished. The second, his only surviving diary, describes the weeks he spent on Mount Athos immediatly afterwards, and was written on the spot. Leigh Fermor was working on these texts to within weeks of his death in June 2011. Now two of his literary executors, Colin Thubron and Artemis Cooper, have edited and brought them together. Despite its disrupted history, the journey described in ‘The Broken Road’ is unmistakably Leigh Fermor, rich in descriptive observation and truffled iwth digressions and fantasies, while the diary reveals a very young writer who was to become one of the greatest prose stylists of the last centruy. First Edition. Hardcover. Published by John Murray 2013

Additional information

Weight 0.643 kg